IS300 Oil changes messy?

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-15, 11:46 AM
FiveSeven
Intermediate

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default IS300 Oil changes messy?

Hello All,

Im new to the is300 family I just bought mine the other day and was wondering something. I got my oil changed yesterday at a very reputable indy lexus shop were in so cal recently with 5w30 mobil full syn oil. After I got home I moved my car later to make room for my wifes car and I noticed oil on my driveway.. not a lot but enough to give my local indy shop a call. I was told by my indy shop that changing the oil on this car gets messy and usually leaves the subframe with oil. They usually wash it off at the car wash next door but it had been raining so it was closed. I just wanted to make sure my shop wasnt make things up.

also what premium gas are you all running?
Old 01-27-15, 12:54 PM
BOOT11
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

The oil filter location makes it pretty easy to spill oil if you aren't used to it. I wouldn't worry too much if the oil level isn't going down at all. As far as gas, google Top Tier gas. That's all I use in my cars except for VP Race fuels.
Old 01-27-15, 01:38 PM
FiveSeven
Intermediate

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Originally Posted by BOOT11
The oil filter location makes it pretty easy to spill oil if you aren't used to it. I wouldn't worry too much if the oil level isn't going down at all. As far as gas, google Top Tier gas. That's all I use in my cars except for VP Race fuels.
ahh the previous owner was saying he ran 89 and 87 octane.. I usually run 91 prem only.. i'll switch over to that on my next tank.
Old 01-27-15, 03:39 PM
James4394
Driver

Originally Posted by FiveSeven