IS - 1st Gen (2001-2005) Discussion about the IS models up to the 2005 model

OMG just bought my first IS300!!!! Soo excited!!!! =)

Old 02-12-09, 01:55 AM
llllllllll
Lexus Champion

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OMG just bought my first IS300!!!! Soo excited!!!! =)

So yeah... I live in Philadelphia, and have recently sold my car because I've had it since new in 98. So I have been without a vehicle for about a week. True, living in center city a person doesn't really need a vehicle, but as a photographer I get called on to go to various locations, some near and some far. And taking public transportation with $10,000 worth of camera gear is quite nerve racking.

Anyways, so back to my story. I've been searching EVERYWHERE for an affordable IS - SC - GS with low miles (5spd preferable) (white preferable) and of course the car has to be within my budget. So I found a black 02 IS in Connecticut, and a white 01 IS in Rhode Island, and a ugly green 93 SC in New Jersey. Today (wednesday), actually it's thursday now, but yeah, wednesday is my only available day off until the busy weekend so I absolutely had to arrange to buy a vehicle today.

First I called the guy with the black 02 IS since it was my favorite, but it didn't work out and he already sold it.
Second I called the dealer with the white 01 IS since it was tied for favorite, and it is still available!!! Yay!

So my friend and I took the train up there to look at it. Guy advertised it as "FLAWLESS INTERIOR" - "RUNS PERFECTLY".... HAHAH! what a joke

Bonuses... not really but kinda
- has 18" rims with very low profile toyo tires
- lowered
- wired for amplifier
- pioneer premier cd player

Problems
- TMU - True Mileage Unknown
- Exhaust leak... I think the kid that owned it drilled a hole in the exhaust so it sounds like a riced out honda.
- Windshield has a huuuge crack on the bottom.
- Brakes/Rotors need changed
- Check Engine light is on..
- Cigarette lighter comes out of the hole.