Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX450H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation RX models.

Snow Help

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-17, 08:03 AM
zbab31
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Snow Help

Hello, I am new to this and do not know a lot about cars, but I want to take a simple survey in order to decide which car to drive in a certain situation...The situation: I will be driving from Roanoke, VA to Charleston, WV this weekend and they are calling for snow. The roads are highways and interstate average about 50-70mph and mountainous! Which car should i drive: a 2010 RX 450h AWD with Bridgestone Blizzaks or a 2011 GX 460 Premium with BF Goodrich KO2s? I am very nervous about driving in wintery conditions and have lived in florida for the past 6 years, your input would be appreciated.
Old 01-02-17, 09:07 AM
tqh
Pit Crew

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts

The highways are usually plowed with highest priority so you'll be fine. There's higher chance of getting stuck after you take exits. I think both car will do fine. If it were me I'd take the RX with snow tires. The GX has better 4WD to get you moving but the snow tires has better stopping power.
Since you haven't driving on snow before, try to practice driving on snow in a big parking slot, try braking hard on snow, etc.
The following 3 users liked this post by tqh:
MerlinT (01-03-17), RobertGift (01-02-17), zbab31 (01-03-17)
Old 01-02-17, 11:26 AM
Kansas
Lead Lap

Received 256 Likes on 202 Posts

Those KO2's are rated as true snow tires per the specs I read so they should have the same mountain/snowflake symbol on the sidewalls as the Blizzaks.

Which has more tread depth? At least 5/32" tread depth is needed for snow tires to be effective.