Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2004 -2009 RX400H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX400H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other second generation RX models.

Short battery life and hybrid braking system?

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-14, 07:37 AM
mamerica
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Short battery life and hybrid braking system?

I am new to Lexus and new to the forum so please don't flame me if this has been covered. From what I've read, some owners are experiencing short battery life when the car sits for a few days.

I was watching a YouTube video entitled "How to replace brake pads on a hybrid vehicle, Lexus RX 400h" by a guy who calls himself spelunkerd. He says that hybrid systems will pressurize the brake system even when the key is off if the fob is close by. To be safe, he takes the key into the house to get it away from the car before he begins working on the brakes.

That got me thinking. If you keep your keys near the garage (or wherever you park), will the system be active and drawing enough current to drain the battery prematurely?
Old 05-10-14, 12:24 AM
RX330inFL
Lead Lap

Received 25 Likes on 24 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus, mamerica.

As no one has jumped in yet, I will try to help out. Hopefully, some hybrid owners will jump in here with further details as necessary.