Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX450H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation RX models.

Battery Charging

Old 01-13-14, 06:20 PM
cflutist
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Battery Charging

I just bought my RX450h last week so I'm a newbie.

Have put 35 miles (all City driving) on the car since then.
Battery was at 50% when I took delivery and is at 80% now.
How long/far do I need to go to get it charged to 100%?
I do see that power is going to the battery when I brake going downhill from my house.

Also, one of the displays says that I'm getting 18.9 mpg since the last fill-up that the dealer did before I took delivery. This is below the 30 mpg that was advertised. So what am I doing wrong?

Sorry if these are stupid questions as this is my first hybrid vehicle.

Thanks in advance,

Cheryl
2014 RX 450h AWD
Old 01-13-14, 07:03 PM
falconer
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the forum Cheryl. I am not sure how many miles you need to drive to get a full charge but just drive it! Back off the accelerator and coast to stops. Don't use your cruise control on hilly highways, you will get better fuel economy without it. Look and see if you are driving in Eco mode. I keep my 2014 in Eco most of the time. I would reset your trip mileage (left side and under steering wheel) when you fill up and calculate your mileage with a known full tank. Then compare what the screen says. Mine seemed off when I first bought the car but is spot on now. And finally, enjoy the ride!
Bill
Old 01-13-14, 07:53 PM
RX330inFL
Lead Lap

Received 25 Likes on 24 Posts

Originally Posted by cflutist
Also, one of the displays says that I'm getting 18.9 mpg since the last fill-up that the dealer did before I took delivery. This is below the 30 mpg that was advertised. So what am I doing wrong?