Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the 2010 - 2015 RX450H model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the RX450H. Please use the main forum for discussion about shared components with other third generation RX models.

Trailer Towing Experience with 450h, FYI

Search this Thread

Old 10-15-13, 06:19 AM
jrfiero
Pit Crew

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Trailer Towing Experience with 450h, FYI

It just KILLED the mpg!

I just pulled a 5x8 cargo trailer ~1000 miles, halfway loaded, halfway empty, all highway.
The RX did fine, plenty of power, brakes worked well (fortunately I never had to test them hard). On a smooth road you hardly know the trailer is there. On less-than-smooth roads you can definitely feel it's there. I have a wheel imbalance somewhere, I expect on the trailer, which I just bought used two days before the trip.
But it killed the mpg - I got 17+ loaded, 18+ empty. 65mph max (which meant I was about the slowest thing on the road).
Its a 2980lb GVWR trailer (880 empty) but I'm sure I didn't have it loaded close to that (Haulmark Transport DLX). It's tall though, about a foot taller than a 5x8 U-Haul, so the aerodynamics aren't great. I towed a U-Haul on this same trip with my 2001 Highlander and got 17mpg loaded.

Recently installed Curt 4000lb Class III hitch worked fine, as did the wiring/lights. I do need to find a drawbar with no drop - I used a 2" drop, and the tongue, loaded, was down just a little. No towing problem, but it left the jack foot kinda low, and it dragged going out of (and back into) my driveway. A couple inches might fix that.

Just another Lexus experience!

Jonas
Old 10-15-13, 08:26 AM
ericsan13
Racer

Received 175 Likes on 123 Posts

Let's say halfway loaded trailer is 1930 lbs. RX 450h AWD curb is 4652 lbs. Total weight would be 6582 lbs.