GX - 2nd Gen (2010-2023) Discussion topics related to the 2010 + GX460 models

New (to me) 2014 - Questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-14, 08:07 AM
dmccombs
Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default New (to me) 2014 - Questions

I have been a long time Lexus owner (ES and 3 RXs), but I am new to the GX. I just got a 2014 GX-40 w/ Premium Package.

The GX has a lot of the same features my previous RXs had, but of course has some improvements (smoother ride, quieter, better stereo sound, real 4WD). Overall, I like the GX, and think it will fit my needs very well.

I have noticed a couple of draw-backs, so I figured I would ask the forum a few questions. Maybe I missed something, or maybe folks have some ideas that will help.

1) The RX had a console that had the USB connection in it. I found it very handy to just leave my iPod plugged in there. I just had to switch the Source in the radio whenever wanted to listen to it. Since it was in the console, it was out of sight from thieves. On the GX, my iPod won't fir in the small area where the USB ports are. I don't know if an iPod touch would even fit, and they have much less music storage anyway. What have other folks done regarding music from an iPod?

2) The GX obviously weighs more than the RX, and it has a V8 engine to help with that. Some portions of the power band in the GX seem to be peppier, but overall, the GX feels a little more sluggish. Sometimes I manually downshift the transmission to pass a vehicle, etc. Are there any other alternatives?

3) IF you have any must-do suggestions for a newbie, please let me know.

Thanks...

Last edited by dmccombs; 11-03-14 at 09:03 AM.
Old 11-02-14, 09:14 AM
kerplunk38
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Congratulations on your new GX.

1) Both of our iPhone 6's fit in the console at the same time with no problem. Not sure how big your iPod is.