GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Need advice on purchase of '06 GX470

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-14, 06:56 PM
sphilly
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need advice on purchase of '06 GX470

Hello, newbie here. Since retiring from the Military, I have decided to "spoil" myself with a used GX470. Without knowing much about these SUV's at all, I am hoping that I can get some great insight from you all about potential red flags to look for, historic problems, or anything I should know about. So, I have found a 1 owner, garage kept, cypress pearl with only 59K miles on it. It is in immaculate condition and the older lady who owned it took VERY good care of it. The dealer is offering it to me for $23k. I think its a fair deal, but am worried about it being 8 years old even if it has live in NC it's whole life. It has Navi, Mark Levinson stereo, and 3rd row. Thanks so much for any advice/help you all can give me.
Old 02-05-14, 07:10 PM
RCsGX
Lexus Champion

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Things to check / look out for:
  • check maintenance records with the VIN here: http://drivers.lexus.com/lexusdrivers/home
  • test the suspension; make sure the ride height works properly and find some speed bumps / pot holes to make sure the rear doesn't bottom out
  • see if the dash has cracks
  • make sure the drive shaft clunking issue has been fixed
  • make sure there are no leaks
  • make sure there are no funny noises
  • check the A/C & heater
  • check the dip stick just to see if the oil is clean
  • look underneath the oil cap to make sure there's no milky substance
  • check the front CV boots to make sure they're no slinging grease

I'm sure there's more but that's my list. Hopefully others will chime in too.

Good luck w/ your potential sale!
Old 02-05-14, 07:21 PM
sphilly
Driver School Candidate