GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Battery Died

Old 09-03-13, 04:48 PM
biggiefat
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery Died

I went to start the '08 GX 470 this morning and all I got was the clicking sounds of a battery with very little cold cranking power to turn the engine over. Should I be expecting this from a five-year old OEM battery? Also, since the batt is out of warranty, should I take it to the Lexus dealer and have it replaced or get one from Interstate or Sear's? Does anyone know if this is ablout the average life expectancy of the OEM battery? Any suggestion or answers will help a great deal. As you may be able to tell, I'm a newbie to Lexus.

Thank you kindly,

Martin

2008 GX 470
Old 09-03-13, 05:03 PM
slush
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by biggiefat
I went to start the '08 GX 470 this morning and all I got was the clicking sounds of a battery with very little cold cranking power to turn the engine over. Should I be expecting this from a five-year old OEM battery? Also, since the batt is out of warranty, should I take it to the Lexus dealer and have it replaced or get one from Interstate or Sear's? Does anyone know if this is ablout the average life expectancy of the OEM battery? Any suggestion or answers will help a great deal. As you may be able to tell, I'm a newbie to Lexus.

Thank you kindly,

Martin

2008 GX 470
Mine died right at the 5yr mark. It was such a hassle to get it replaced by lexus (the battery stated it was an 84 month battery), the CS rep said we never made such a thing...as I was staring at it in the engine bay. I just rode up to Advance Auto, and bought the one they had that fit.

I wouldn't over think it.
Old 09-03-13, 05:03 PM
lesz
Lead Lap

Received 1,010 Likes on 691 Posts

Originally Posted by biggiefat

Thank you kindly,

Martin

2008 GX 470