GX - 1st Gen (2003-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Thinking about joining the GX family

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-12, 05:05 PM
danmm7
Driver

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Thinking about joining the GX family

Hello all!

I am the current owner of 2006 Acura RL (AWD) and 2007 Sienna Limited.
Due to family growing and increased need for safe, larger, capable AWD car for the winter, i am seriously thinking about selling my Acura RL and getting a used GX470 (or even LX470). The SUV will be used for long trips to the mountains and back (250mi one way). It will not be a daily commuter car for the most part.

Since i am trying to stay around the $20k budget, my choices are limited to older GX470 from the 2003-2005 time period. I see lots of 2004 available for sale with close to 100k miles. Was 2004 a bad year??
Most come with around 90-100k miles, which does not scare me to much. I am not a mechanic but i've worked on various cars before and i know how to do a lot of easy to medium difficulty tasks. I've been reading and researching a lot on these trucks and that kind of mileage on the odo is not a big deal, IF the truck was maintained.

I have a a few important questions i wanted to ask, hoping that you can give me honest feedback:

1. Automatic Transmission reliability - I haven't seen many reports on the forums on problematic AT. Is the GX/LX transmission considered very reliable and generally bullet proof, or i should expect a costly rebuilt around 120-130k miles mark? What's the real story? Of course, we're assuming that the GX SUV in question has been serviced at Lexus/Toyota dealer and was not completely neglected. How would you rate the AT compared to other cars?