GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Budget Buying Options/Opinions

Search this Thread

Old 01-22-14, 07:24 AM
BigDreamer
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Budget Buying Options/Opinions

Hey all, total newbie here both to this forum and all forms in general so forgive me for rookie mistakes. I'm asking a question that's bound to have been thoroughly discussed but I can't put my mouse on it. So here it goes...

I drive an old '97 with 170+ thousand miles trouble free; hardly any money put into that car. Runs great but I've driving it so long and I really want a change. My budget is $14k max, assuming I can talk the price down a bit and put a (very) little bit of cash down. My real lifestyle is centered on driving 22 miles one way to work each day, 17 on the hwy and the rest on city blocks . The hwy is mostly moving can bottle up too. Occasionally drive with 1-3 of my kids and would use it to haul a canoe if I can. My dream life is backwoods driving.

So I really like the GX and LX over pretty much anything out there, but sometimes I think maybe 4runner or MDX.

Assuming maintenance records are virtually the same between models, anyone have a recommendation between what I'm seeing in the market place? As a sample, I can get:
1998 LX 92K miles for $11,000
2004 GX 120K miles for $12,000
2002 LX 153K miles for $12,800
2000 LX 137K miles for $13,000
2001 LX 98K miles for $13,500
2003/2004 GX 122k miles for $14,000

So lots of choices. I didn't include 4R or MDX as the GX/LX are my first loves... MPGs are important but as I drive mostly hwy, maybe big difference? After all, these LXs have the 4 speed and the GX the 5 speed...

Any opinions on these? The prices are all within budget, assume maintenance is on par, why one or the other?
Thanks soo much!!
Old 01-22-14, 08:05 AM
RCsGX
Lexus Champion

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

https://www.google.com/search?q=gx47...ient=firefox-a