GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

Air Injection Pump

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-12, 04:19 PM
dmarple
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Air Injection Pump

New to this forum.

This is just to relay our most recent experience on the GX 470, 2005 80+k miles.

I am no mechanic so what I say may not be exactly correct. Feel free to correct me.

It is known as the air injection pump. You may not be familiar with it. I had never heard of such a thing. It comes on when the engine is cold in order to pump air into the catalyitic converter so the converter can burn off the lethal carbons before the Cat gets hot. It's an emission thing. On our car, in May, it seemed to run for apx 45 seconds when the car was first started for the day. Then never again for that day

It has failed. The dealer has quoted apx $4 K to fix. That is due to having to replace all the valves too since we don't know whether they have been impacted by the failure. Also, Lexus chose to put this under the intake manifold causing labor costs to be quite high. (Toyota Tundra has had a recall for this part in model year 2007. At least it is not under the manifold on the Tundra.)

We did not buy a Lexus because we wanted to drive a prestigious car.

We did not buy Lexus so we could get our shoes polished when we met with our repair consultant at the dealer.

No, we bought Lexus because of their reputation as a trouble free vehicle over many miles.

I have owned vehicles for 45 years, and I have never incurred a situation quite like this. Needless to say.....

Thanks for offering me an opportunity to vent.
Old 06-21-12, 07:42 AM
TopGear300
Driver

I will be the first to offer up my condolences!!

Any fix on any car with that price tag will make you reconsider!

If I were in this situation I would have 2 (serious) gut reactions: