GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

2006 gx470, initial impressions

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-09, 09:32 PM
LIGX
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2006 gx470, initial impressions

I picked up a 2006 GX off lease with 25k miles in black with gray leather interior. 3rd row seats removed immediately, Thule roof rack installed for bikes/snowboards, front and rear guards installed at dealer.

Dislikes: Driver seat a bit uncomfortable - the sides ride up too high and the back contour not ergonomic. I've been driving Grand Cherokee Limiteds for the past 9 years and those seats were more comfortable.

Anyone else experience this?

Also: too much wasted space in the console area, not enough storage for keys, wallet, etc. other than the main console unit.

The armrests are not wide enough, I'm going to have them doubled in width by a Custom car shop here on Long Island.

I like how the back door swings side to side; that will work well in summer when surfboards are on the roof.

The nav, rear camera, telescopic wheel, sound system all work well.

So there it is, my first post.
Old 03-07-09, 09:02 AM
CenterIsl
Pit Crew

I've got a similar '03 GX - black/grey, removed 3rd row immediately, have Thule rack.

I don't have surfboards, but - for me - the swinging door is awkward when towing my dinghy!

Looked at an '09 at the dealership the other day and the only difference I could spot was they moved the 4WD transfer button. They've obviously put no effort into improving the ergonomics - the '09 still has those whacky "mode" buttons in the slot above the center console!
Old 03-09-09, 06:40 AM
kphu
Lexus Test Driver

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by LIGX
Dislikes: Driver seat a bit uncomfortable - the sides ride up too high
If I think I understand you correctly, the seat can move up and down. On the side there is a button to lower and rise the height of the seat. Give that a try!