GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) Discussion topics related to the 2003 -2009 GX470 models

2005 GX470's - Are you experiencing any vibration issues?

Search this Thread

Old 01-03-05, 06:10 PM
crusit
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2005 GX470's - Are you experiencing any vibration issues?

Hi,

I've been reviewing the GX470 Forum for several months and have been considering purchasing a GX470, but have been concerned if the "steering vibration" and "clunking" problems have been resolved with the 2005's. I really became concerned when I did a test drive of an 2004 (I don't know the VIN number) and felt the "vibration" problem. I know that there has been a "fix" for the vibration issue, but was wondering if the newer 2004's and 2005's are having the problem or was it fixed with a design change in the manufacturing process or just applied a "fix" after production. Also, is the "clunking" problem an old one or is it still occurring? I would appreciate any additional insight.

Thanks!
Old 01-03-05, 07:50 PM
steevr
Pole Position

We've got one of the later '04 GX's built in 9/04 (Vin 64,XXX) and no vibration or clunk issues with 1,500 miles on the odometer.
Old 01-03-05, 08:05 PM
luckylex
Rookie

Since the first 2005's were only first delivered a few weeks ago, there may not be much of a sample to report on at this time.
Old 01-03-05, 11:03 PM
Tony
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Ive got a 04 with no problems

I have an 04 with no vibration or clunk problems. I dont think these problems are present for the majority of the trucks. Out of all the GX owners on this forum maybe 10 have the problems.
Old 01-04-05, 08:05 PM
crusit
Driver School Candidate

Thanks for the information...... I look forward to other updates from 2004 and 2005 owners....
Old 01-05-05, 09:10 AM
ShakMan
Rookie

I also have a 04 (July purchase) and no vibration problem
Old 01-05-05, 01:41 PM
darylhuff
Rookie