GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

GS430 catalytic converters

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-15, 10:55 AM
royalspade
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default GS430 catalytic converters

Newbie here, but a long time lurker. I have a '01 GS430 that has been recently diagnosed with clogged/bad catalytic converters by a Lexus dealership. They advised me to replace it with OEM parts, but a single cat alone cost $1,500! I'm talking about the two cats that come after my headers/exhaust manifold on both sides. I'm wondering if any of you guys can point me to the right direction as regards to a trusted and direct fit aftermarket catalytic converter?
Old 01-13-15, 04:02 PM
sivikvtec
Intermediate

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts

Check for exhaust leaks first. See if this makes the CEL go away.
Old 01-13-15, 04:50 PM
tmf2004
5% Club. Killing it!!!

Received 62 Likes on 60 Posts

check ebay for stock or aftermarket replacements.... That price is crazy...
Old 01-14-15, 02:13 AM
angus
Lexus Test Driver

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Or get aftermarket high flow cats.
Old 01-14-15, 11:13 AM
royalspade
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by sivikvtec
Check for exhaust leaks first. See if this makes the CEL go away.
I've considered that and we looked closely into it, found no leaks.

Originally Posted by tmf2004
check ebay for stock or aftermarket replacements.... That price is crazy...
I found a Magnaflow one... anybody reading this have this on their car? http://www.andysautosport.com/produc...ow__49909.html
Old 01-14-15, 11:53 AM
Ahheck01
Pit Crew

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm curious - would one see a performance gain from a high-flow cat and otherwise stock exhaust system? What are the other key bottlenecks, in order?
Old 01-14-15, 01:18 PM
angus
Lexus Test Driver

You will gain some from the high flow cats alone - if you don't want to make noise then the rest of the system will be tough.