GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Aftermarket deck, OEM amp bypass

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-15, 07:50 PM
Lveyolfe
Lead Lap

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Aftermarket deck, OEM amp bypass

I'm trying to get a double din touchscreen deck installed my '99 GS300, car toys is charging me over $1200 cause they have to bypass the stock amp? Is there any way to not break the bank for this?
Old 01-08-15, 08:08 PM
sam12345
Lexus Champion

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

You are getting ripped off. There is a DIY here on club lexus. Or go some other installer. Total rippoff
Old 01-09-15, 02:48 AM
angus
Lexus Test Driver

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Yup, complete ripoff.

I was a car audio installer for many years and I've seen shop try this crap lots.

If you are running your speakers off the new deck's amp then you need to run new wires to the factory amp, if you have the normal pioneer factory deck, the amp is behind the glove box, probably an extra hour MAX to hook it up.

If your car has a factory NAK system that means 4 speaker wires to the trunk - still 1-2 hours time MAX,
Old 01-09-15, 08:27 AM
mulasien
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

How is the sound quality when bypassing the stock factory amp with an aftermarket HU? I was all set to replace my head unit before I learned that it isn't compatible with the stock amp. Do you still have use of the subwoofer when bypassing it?

When I was looking to replace mine, I was told that I would have to purchase a new amp as well to wire it into to get the full sound of my current stereo. Is this true, or would a replacement head unit with an amp built in have all the functionality I need to get full use of the stock speakers and sub?

I'm not an expert in car stereos, so I've had trouble finding a good answer on this.
Old 01-09-15, 04:03 PM
angus
Lexus Test Driver

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by mulasien