GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Buying the car I have wanted since I was a teen

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-14, 06:56 PM
HandsomeB
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying the car I have wanted since I was a teen

Ok I' m not new to the lexus community I have owned my first gen GS since I graduated high school and have loved her and still do. She now has close to 315k and multiple items are beginning to fail. So I figured now would be a good time to upgrade to a second gen GS. I have secured a loan through the bank already and will be purchasing now this week. My question is should I be turned of by examples with several owners (4+). I have seen some with higher mileage and service records to go with it, then I have seen some (GS400's) w 170k mileage and multiple owners like 7.

I am looking to spend between $4500 to $5500 on a decent GS and I have found a few good 400s and a good number of 300s w good miles (less than 160k), I know what I should be looking for mechanically but what are the other important factors, mainly the amount of previous owners. Any help is greatly appreciated!!!!
Old 08-13-14, 08:17 PM
Lukas99GS
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 23 Posts

Personally I'd be more concerned with service records, don't buy one without them unless you have the car thoroughly checked out by a mechanic. For that price range you should be able to find a good condition gs300 with lower miles around 130-150k miles gs4s tend to cost a little more, depends what you want, both cars are super reliable. I think I'd rather have a great condition lower mileage gs3 than a possible higher mileage maybe more worn gs4. But if I had to do it over I'd have kept saving and gotten a good condition gs430.