GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Started with a leak, an now......

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-14, 06:43 PM
BigTexGS
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks for the support aneidiaz and yea, these repairs are getting pricey.

Update: 1-10-14

Comfirmed head gasket blown. Had a cylinder leak down test performed and it failed. I'm just hoping nothing else is damaged. I'm even considering doing a swap since my lovely partners aren't contributing. I'll keep you all posted...
Old 01-10-14, 07:26 PM
JeffTsai
Lexus Fanatic

Received 43 Likes on 17 Posts

Why did it blow a hg in the first place? It is pretty much unheard of on these engines doing that out if the blue. You have to overheat it pretty badly to blow the hg. Usually that will end up with a warped head as well.
Old 01-11-14, 09:16 PM
Coustic
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by BigTexGS
THIS IS MY FIRST TIME POSTING.

JUST CHANGED THE THERMOSTAT AND DROVE HER AROUND THE BLOCK ONLY TO BE DISAPPOINTED THAT SHE IS STILL OVERHEATING. ALL OUT OF IDEAS AND MY POCKETS ARE SLIMMING DOWN. ANY IDEAS I CAN TRY BEFORE I CALL MY EXTENDED WARRANTY AND LET THEM DEAL WITH IT...
Im just curious.. if you have extended warranty why not just claim it on there?
Old 01-16-14, 06:15 PM
BigTexGS
Driver School Candidate

Originally Posted by Coustic
Im just curious.. if you have extended warranty why not just claim it on there?
Those where my intensions before I figured out just how useless they are.
Old 01-20-14, 10:02 AM
aneidiaz
Lexus Test Driver

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

Wassup bro??? What's the status on the car? I hope everything is good!
Old 01-25-14, 06:41 AM
BigTexGS
Driver School Candidate

Update 1-25-14