GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Help with GROM Audio install

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-13, 03:06 PM
ocgslexus
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Help with GROM Audio install

Hello!

I own a 2002 GS300, with the factory navigation package.

I recently purchased the GROM Audio unit, to integrate bluetooth with my unit.

This morning I went in and removed the CD changer located in the glovebox, and to my dismay the provided wiring harness does not match the connector.

This particular wiring harness has 3 connectors. One for the GROM, and two for the head unit, apparently.

I studied some threads of people who did similar projects, albeit different car models, such as hypervish's RX300 (https://www.clublexus.com/forums/rx-...tallation.html)
, which is the same vintage and also has factory nav. In his case, the unit connected to the old CD changer, so I naturally assumed mine would be the same.

Before I tear the dash apart again, I want to be sure that I'm doing the right thing.

Does this unit connect directly to the head unit on the GS w/ Navi, as opposed to the CD changer?

If I disconnect the harness from the head unit, am I not going to trigger the unit's theft protection?

Thanks in advance, forum members.
Old 07-14-13, 02:34 PM
JFBPhoto
Driver School Candidate

good question, I'm waiting to receive mine ( probably tomorrow). ill look here if an answer show. If not I will try to install it tomorrow and see what you mean. I also have the nav.
Old 07-15-13, 10:34 PM
ocgslexus
Driver School Candidate

I finally got around to removing the head unit. Sure enough, there are 4 big wiring harnesses plugged into the back. The GROM connector is the one on the lower-left.