GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Buying Advice 1999 GS300

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-12, 08:58 PM
Boston35
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying Advice 1999 GS300

Hi, I'm looking for some advice from people who know this car well. I looked at a 1999 GS300 the other night. First of all, the model itself is nice: timeless lines, luxurious, drives nice - it's definitely my kind of car. I'm not a mechanic but I know cars pretty well and am fairly capable in doing my own repairs. I feel I could do some of the work on this car but not all of it. I'd like to simply describe the car and let you all tell me what you think of it.

99 Black GS300, 104k, 1-owner. Clean carfax but the car has been painted at least once and I am suspicious of an unreported accident - although I can't find any evidence on the frame. Both the front and rear bumper covers have been replaced.

Body: Large dent on the passenger side fender. Bad scratch (probably key'd) on passenger side quarter panel with a touch up job that makes it look worse. Front bumper cover is cracked with a loose fog light (bumper cover needs to be replaced again). Chrome moulding is missing on front and rear bumper. ASA 16" wheels.

Interior: Good condition. Leather. Has a nice Pioneer touchscreen GPS head unit. Clean. Driver side heated seat switch doesn't light up (could just be the switch, I wasnt able to test if the seat worked)