GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

valveas ticking hard after timing belt change HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-12, 09:48 PM
chuydiaz
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default valveas ticking hard after timing belt change HELP!

Hi i am new at this and i hope u guys can help me.
i have a gs300 2jz ge engine and i just change timing belt myself, unfortunatelly timing set off while trying to lossen crank pulley bolt because of lack of decent tools. i set the timing back abnd install timing belt and everything back, turn engine on and the valves start ticking hard and car wasn idling even. drove the car for a while now it seem it idles nice but the ticking ts still there. do you guys think i could have demage something while setiing the time back or its just simple coincidence. the car seem its running normal thogh. adjusting valves might solve the problem?? please help

thanks in advance!!
Old 06-11-12, 10:34 PM
SaiyanGS3
Racer

Received 86 Likes on 70 Posts

Yep sounds like you did damage due to your inexperience. Its no coincidence that the valves started ticking badly after you completed the job. I can't help with this because I paid an professional to do this for me.
Old 06-11-12, 10:37 PM
mtparker18
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

So, you're saying you took the belt off, adjusted each cam and the crank, then put the belt on? If so, start pricing out new valves.
Old 06-11-12, 11:22 PM
DosyBoy
Lexus Champion

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Not normal at all.............
Old 06-12-12, 12:19 AM
afstud
Driver School Candidate

unfortunately i think you ruined the engine.... good luck with a replacment
Old 06-12-12, 10:01 AM
chuydiaz
Driver School Candidate

Smile