GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Tire woes. New tire ruined after lowering

Search this Thread

Old 08-16-10, 01:25 AM
ProfesrLEX
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Tire woes. New tire ruined after lowering

So first of all i am lowered on Tein CS V2 coilovers. I had a moderate drop all the way around that i have been rocking for a couple years with no major problems on my daily driver. I Just got new tires a month ago, (Sumitomo HTR Z III 225/335/20 on an 8.5 inch rim.

Decided last week to lower my car a bit all the way around. Lowered approx 1/2 - 3/4 inch in the front. Was planning on getting an alignment soon afterwards But took my car on a 2 hour drive the next day. Then the morning after that i noticed i had a flat on my front drivers side

I took the tire off and took some pics as seen below. The pic of my car is the height i was at when the incident occurred. As you can see, the tire is jacked up on the inner side. The whole tire seems to be pushed off center to the outside making the sidewall appear completely vertical on the outside and dramatically rounded on the inside. There are also weird bulges, stretched areas and spots where there has obviously been rubber scrapped off. Was this the result of taking my car on a long drive without an alignment?

Took the car in to the shop and they told me they couldnt find a leak and that they think the "strut is pushing on the sidewall and letting air out" when i drive. Does this sound plausible? i must be rubbing on something but i'm not sure. Can a tire rub on the upper control arm? The tire holds air relatively well when its not being driven.

For the time being i lifted the car a bit and still have the tire on there but not driving on it. Tried putting the stock rims back on and experienced what sounded like a very noticeable rubber rubbing against something sound.