GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Noisy Engine?!? Why so poor sounding?

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-12, 11:16 AM
bentleymp2
Pole Position

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noisy Engine?!? Why so poor sounding?

I should warn you, I have no knowledge of engines and why they sound they way they do, or what is normal an what is not. What I do have is experience in Hondas (acuras) and Toyota.
With that said, why are our engines so noisy and cheap sounding? In the lower gears, I guess first and second, while accelerating normally from a dead stop, how come there is all this ticking and struggling sound from the engine? It isn't until third gear that the car feels refined and solid.
It isn't until you are at higher speeds, that stepping on it sounds great.
I parked my car while keeping the engine running, and walked to the hood. I can hear the ticking. I opened the hood, and I can't believe how loud it is. Why?
Why does my 2001 Acura Cl type-s with 127000 miles on it sound quiter and accelerate from a dead stop quiter? Why does this sound like my mother's 2012 4 cylinder Camry?
I love my car, but... why so ****ty sounding when slowly driving around?

Sorry for the negativity.
Old 09-29-12, 01:49 PM
Chris8152
Pit Crew

Received 28 Likes on 15 Posts

Someone else will probably give you a much more in depth explanation, but basically this ticking noise is normal, it has something to do with the two different types of injectors that the car uses depending on the way you drive it.
Old 09-29-12, 05:14 PM
spwolf
Lexus Champion

Received 110 Likes on 81 Posts

Originally Posted by bentleymp2
I should warn you, I have no knowledge of engines and why they sound they way they do, or what is normal an what is not. What I do have is experience in Hondas (acuras) and Toyota.