Go Back   Club Lexus Forums > Lexus Model Forums > GS Models > GS - First Generation
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

JZS147 swap thread

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-07, 06:32 AM   #61
Aristo-cat
Driver
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: IL
Posts: 168
Default

so basicly what your saying is that I need to find a 2jzgte only from an Aristo, with tranny and ECU. A USDM Supra 2jz won't work... correct?
This ad is not displayed to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Club Lexus!
Aristo-cat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-07, 06:53 AM   #62
Kaiser
Lexus Champion
Trader Score: (0)
 
Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,830
Send a message via MSN to Kaiser
Default

The wiring harness won't be plug and play like the Aristo.
__________________
2001 GS430
No modifications necessary...yet

Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view. -Ben Kenobi
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-07, 07:07 AM   #63
twojayzee
Lexus Champion
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Emerald City
Posts: 1,853
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser View Post
The wiring harness won't be plug and play like the Aristo.
Like kaiser said

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
so basicly what your saying is that I need to find a 2jzgte only from an Aristo, with tranny and ECU. A USDM Supra 2jz won't work... correct?
The aristo is plug and play. The usdm stuff will work but its a pita to do all the wiring conversion
__________________
TEIN WARNING - http://www.clublexus.com/forums/susp...dangerous.html

My other projects
My streetbike/quad build - GSX-Raptor with pix and vids http://www.supraforums.com/forum/sho...tor-full-build
My 2UZ V8 converted FZJ80 landcruiser build with pix and vids http://forum.ih8mud.com/threads/proj...owered.341445/
twojayzee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 08:49 AM   #64
gompka
Lexus Test Driver
Trader Score: (6)
 
gompka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 892
Send a message via AIM to gompka
Default

Two questions for you guys.

1.) I need to use the supra throttle cable because the throttle body on the gte is different that on the ge correct?

2.) Is there any way to use the ge clutch fan and waterpump on the gte?
gompka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 09:11 AM   #65
Kaiser
Lexus Champion
Trader Score: (0)
 
Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,830
Send a message via MSN to Kaiser
Default

Clutch and fan, most likely. Waterpump no, and why wouldn't you change it anyway while it's out? It's only $120.
__________________
2001 GS430
No modifications necessary...yet

Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view. -Ben Kenobi
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 10:42 AM   #66
TRLexi300
Rookie
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: SC
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gompka View Post
Two questions for you guys.

1.) I need to use the supra throttle cable because the throttle body on the gte is different that on the ge correct?

2.) Is there any way to use the ge clutch fan and waterpump on the gte?
#1 You are correct. Make sure you order it for Turbo model
#2. You can not use the GE clutch and fan assembly. The fan will hit the top water neck. You can use a TT Supra fan assembly, or can use electric fans. Buy a new water pump from Toyota-be sure to get the front half and back half. I paid $130.
TRLexi300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 11:10 AM   #67
gompka
Lexus Test Driver
Trader Score: (6)
 
gompka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 892
Send a message via AIM to gompka
Default

Ok, that straightens things out. I replaced the water pump on the gs recently and thought I might be able to get away with using it, but I guess not. Would you guys recommend to just get an oem supra radiator or to step up to an aluminum one? I am thinking of going bpu right away and upgrading some things, so I'm wondering if there will be any benefit there.
gompka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-07, 12:45 PM   #68
Kaiser
Lexus Champion
Trader Score: (0)
 
Kaiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,830
Send a message via MSN to Kaiser
Default

If going electric fans, yes upgrade the radiator. I have a Griffin radiator and I ran a little bit hotter than I liked when the temp was over 105 ambient. I'm going to relocate my trans cooler from the condenser and I think that should cool it down enough.

I have a tt clutch and fan sitting in my garage I'm not using. I was going to put it on but never got around to it. I would have had to rearrange my intercooler pipes. Let me know if you need it.
__________________
2001 GS430
No modifications necessary...yet

Many of the truths we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view. -Ben Kenobi
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 06:29 PM   #69
starscreem
Driver School Candidate
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: hoffman estates
Posts: 5
Default 94 gs300 aristo swap

hey guys i have a couple questions here for u. i bought a 1g aristo front clip and have torn it apart already. while i was refreshing the motor i ran in to a problem the water pump i ordered would not match up with the water line on the block. bolted right to the block but was about a inch short of the water line then i also noticed that its thermostat housing bolts were in a different angle and the upper pipe didn't have the pipe of the water pump going to it. so what should i do. otherwise the project is going smoothly so far. ill get some picks up this week if i get a chance. also if any of u are local that have done this swap that would be awesome.


for what i no the water pump i orderd is a 93 supra tt

Last edited by starscreem; 10-28-07 at 06:32 PM..
starscreem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-07, 07:11 PM   #70
Dr Tweak
Former Sponsor - Cancelled
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: GA
Posts: 92
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aristo-cat View Post
so basicly what your saying is that I need to find a 2jzgte only from an Aristo, with tranny and ECU. A USDM Supra 2jz won't work... correct?
The harness won't be plug and play, just like if you got a 1JZ, or a VVTi 2JZ, or anything that didn't come from an Aristo (GS300) chassis.

If you do want to do a swap from a different car, you can, but the wiring would need to be converted. We provide this service:

http://www.phoenixtuning.com/

But with Aristo 2JZ engines being so abundant, they are the logical choice. I will probably swap a VVTi 2JZ into my '93 GS300, but that's just because I like being difficult

-Doc

Dr Tweak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-07, 10:26 PM   #71
turbochris
Driver
Trader Score: (0)
 
turbochris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tx
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to turbochris
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaiser View Post
R7 is a resistor and you need to jump from one side to the other. It's just above the orange plug. I just reinstalled my US tach and jumped it. It is the solution!


I just did this and took pictures so everyone could see how to do it. It was very very easy and took about 20 minutes.






first remove the gauge cluster completely
Attached Images
 
__________________
1993 GS300 (SupLex) T67 6.?@100+mph
1992 SC 300 5 speed~~sold
1992 awd talon..2.3 stroker,T67..592whp 30psi(sold)
MazdaSpeed3~~~ daily
See my old race car video on my MySpace page at
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=57740843
go down and click on the play button to see my old DSM making 700+whp run a street race..hehe..i miss that car. Theres vids of the new car racing and making DYNO pulls.
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-07, 10:27 PM   #72
turbochris
Driver
Trader Score: (0)
 
turbochris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tx
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to turbochris
Default

Then remove the back cover.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1993 GS300 (SupLex) T67 6.?@100+mph
1992 SC 300 5 speed~~sold
1992 awd talon..2.3 stroker,T67..592whp 30psi(sold)
MazdaSpeed3~~~ daily
See my old race car video on my MySpace page at
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=57740843
go down and click on the play button to see my old DSM making 700+whp run a street race..hehe..i miss that car. Theres vids of the new car racing and making DYNO pulls.
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-07, 10:29 PM   #73
turbochris
Driver
Trader Score: (0)
 
turbochris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tx
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to turbochris
Default

Then locate the resister that has R7 right above it and jump a wire from one side to the other.
Attached Images
 
__________________
1993 GS300 (SupLex) T67 6.?@100+mph
1992 SC 300 5 speed~~sold
1992 awd talon..2.3 stroker,T67..592whp 30psi(sold)
MazdaSpeed3~~~ daily
See my old race car video on my MySpace page at
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=57740843
go down and click on the play button to see my old DSM making 700+whp run a street race..hehe..i miss that car. Theres vids of the new car racing and making DYNO pulls.
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-07, 10:31 PM   #74
turbochris
Driver
Trader Score: (0)
 
turbochris's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tx
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to turbochris
Default

Here is a close up. I used a little zip tie to keep it tight after twisting the wire on with a set of small needle nose pliers..........then but it back in and your good to go. RPM gauge works perfect............

chris w
Attached Images
 
__________________
1993 GS300 (SupLex) T67 6.?@100+mph
1992 SC 300 5 speed~~sold
1992 awd talon..2.3 stroker,T67..592whp 30psi(sold)
MazdaSpeed3~~~ daily
See my old race car video on my MySpace page at
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endid=57740843
go down and click on the play button to see my old DSM making 700+whp run a street race..hehe..i miss that car. Theres vids of the new car racing and making DYNO pulls.
turbochris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 02:53 AM   #75
reese1788
Driver School Candidate
Trader Score: (0)
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Illinois
Posts: 2
Default Engine Swap

I have a 1994 GS 300. I want to put the 2JZ-GTE in it. I want to know everything that I need to know to make this happen. Can someone tell me how much money Im going to need and exactly what parts im going to have to buy. Thanks
reese1788 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-07, 02:53 AM
 
 
 
 
Reply

Tags
300, aristo, drive, exterior, fuel, gs, jdm, jzs147, lexus, nat, parts, pinout, pump, shaft, supra, swap, vip

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting my '03 SC430 to an '06-'10 Pebble Beach Ed. **PICS! andynoel78 SC 430 10 10-28-14 08:33 AM
PA 1991 Black GEN III Toyota MR2 FS in PA. $10,000 Lexwon NON-Lexus vehicles for sale 1 08-22-14 07:39 AM
New user looking for guidance havokprod IS - Second Generation 3 05-12-14 11:52 AM
DIY: How to flush your GS2 coolant with pictures GS400Jay GS - Second Generation 38 05-24-13 04:42 PM
Hankook Evo Ventus V12 Review: mdgrwl The Tire Rack's Tires, Wheels & Brakes Forum 83 01-25-13 04:13 PM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 AM.

Join ClubLexus
Advertising


Copyright © 2000-2008 Internet Brands, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy | Disclaimer | Terms of Use | JOBS


Get all contact info