GS - 4th Gen (2013-2020) Discussion about the 2013 and up GS models

Weird AC Setting?

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-16, 04:15 PM
Trogdor796
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird AC Setting?

Hey, so when I press auto(physical button) and have my temp at HI or 85, it turns on the AC as well. Anyone know why this is? I thought auto was supposed to adjust everything to get it to that temp. AC is also on when I hit the front defrost(physical button).

This is on a 2013 Premium with rear seat controls, and S Flow and 3 Zone is off, if that makes a difference.

Maybe I'm missing a setting somewhere, I'm still pretty new to all this coming from a 99 GS 300!
Old 04-06-16, 05:21 PM
vinnier6
Lead Lap

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A/c is always going to come on....it's the compressor and it will always turn on to dehumidify the air
Old 04-06-16, 05:44 PM
jonathanz
Advanced

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts

same page here, 2015, every times when i hit auto, i had to turn off the AC. if i want AC i would turn it on myself.
wish system didn't programmed this way
Old 04-06-16, 06:21 PM
faifai83
Instructor

Received 29 Likes on 25 Posts

You can toggle the A/C via the Circulate/Fresh air (No A/C) Auto Circulate/Fresh Air (A/C On)
Old 04-06-16, 06:34 PM
Trogdor796
Rookie

So if I have it on Auto Circulate Fresh Air setting the AC will always come on? This is by design?

I guess it just doesn't make sense to me. If I recall, in my 99 it wasn't like this, Auto setting did not turn on the AC when you had the temp cranked way up. This won't be a problem in Summer, but in Winter I'd like to just be able to hit Auto while having the temp set at HI/85. Instead I'll have to either go in to the menu and turn off AC, or turn off the auto circulate setting. This wouldn't be an issue if there was a physical button for AC, but you have to use the joystick to navigate to it, not something that's ideal when driving.
Old 04-06-16, 06:36 PM
faifai83
Instructor