Base Audio vs Mark Levinson

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-15, 06:57 AM
kjcole
Lead Lap

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Base Audio vs Mark Levinson

Hi Folks,

I'm on the SC430 forum, and have decided that it is time to let my SC430 go and pick up a low mileage 4th gen GS350. The RC350 is a little pricey for me right now. My SC430 has the ML sound system, which I love. I'm a musician and sound is important to me. Will I be happy with the base sound system in a 2013-14 GS350 or should I restrict my search to those with the ML? I'm an hour from the nearest Lexus dealer, but I will make the trip to answer the question for myself, but since I was sitting at the keyboard anyway.......

Thanks!
Old 09-23-15, 07:07 AM
yardie876
Lexus Champion

Received 87 Likes on 73 Posts

If you're one to appreciate good sounds, I'd definitely go for the ML. It sounds great.
Old 09-23-15, 08:24 AM
ItzFilyO
Lexus Test Driver

Received 1,046 Likes on 661 Posts

U need to sit in both vehicles and listen to each system for urself. What's good to others' ears may not be good to u.

I've had both the base audio and now ML system. To me the ML lacks bass and I'm all about da bass. It does, however, sound clearer to me at higher volume with no distortion. Watching DVD movies with full surround in the ML a blast! But for FM radio it lacks bass. XM sounds bad. I play my music from my iPhone via Bluetooth streaming and I still can rattle my door at higher volume.
Old 09-23-15, 09:00 AM
kjcole
Lead Lap

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Thanks so far. I'm not the kind to crank the bass - but I do want clarity and good surround sound imaging, and that's where the ML system is outstanding.
Old 09-23-15, 09:02 AM
ItzFilyO
Lexus Test Driver

Then I think u'll be happy with the ML. The clarity is really good with this system.
Old 09-23-15, 09:13 AM
CottageChz
Advanced

Received 76 Likes on 61 Posts