GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

2008 GS 460 - Transmission Lag

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-16, 06:59 AM
Fausty
Pole Position

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by snoball
Another update.......

Lexus has informed the dealer that my VALVE GUIDES need to be replaced. Which is totaling about $9k dollars. Service Drive Manager is talking to Lexus about footing the bill for it since I only have 69k miles on it. If Lexus does not pick up the tab I am screwed.

I am not spending $9k on this car.
Sorry to hear this man. What is it that drives up the cost of these Sort of repairs for Lexus vehicles? Aside from it being the dealer and probably sourcing the oem parts. No reputable independent shops can take in this sort of work? Is it because the technology needed to work on these cars?I'm curious as I'm new to the Lexus world.
Old 07-01-16, 03:16 PM
Doublebase
Pole Position

Received 352 Likes on 243 Posts

Originally Posted by Fausty
It's crazy how it would cost nearly half of the cars value to do this job. So according to your first post it's a unicorn problem? My car has 97k miles. I hope this is an isolated incident.
It is insane, but we are talking about replacing two heads, plus probably 16 hours labor. Still you're right, it's ridiculous.

I have 130,000 on my 07 LS460 and it's pretty rare. There are members with 200,000 plus miles on their cars with no issues, but it's not unheard of either. There's certainly been reports of hesitation issues and I want to say there's been maybe two or three members that have had the valve guide problem. There's probably some that have it and don't realize it too, I imagine. At this point if it happens to mine I'll probably just drive it till it blows up.

I feel bad for the guy who needs the heads, that's a headache no one deserves.
Old 07-12-16, 11:45 AM
snoball
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Another update.......