GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Car detailing in & out! Help!

Old 03-09-16, 02:03 PM
Nicole2292
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Car detailing in & out! Help!

I'm new to this group so hi everyone! I need to know how to wash, wax and polish my car and sufficiently clean & condition the leather! I also need to know how to remove brake dust from the factory rims! I need to know exactly what to get because the people inside the auto parts stores don't have a clue they just work there! I'm new to this so any input is appreciated!
Old 03-09-16, 02:17 PM
Steve2424
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

For the interior leather, I use a damp towel/microfiber cloth and use that to wipe any dust/residue off the seats first -- not too wet as I don't want the weather to dry out. Then I use Lexol's leather cleaner (can be found at Autozone or any auto parts store) to clean the leather. I haven't used a conditioner on mine so maybe someone here can chime in with a good quality one -- but Meguire's or Mother's might make one and they seem to be reputable companies in this arena.

For the exterior I normally buy that 1 gallon soap from Autozone and use quite a bit in a 5-gallon pail along with a microfiber sponge. I normally go over my car twice -- first go around to get the majority of the dirt off, and then a new pail to give it a better cleaning since the first time can leave behind some dirt.