GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Yet another rims question for the CL wheel experts...

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-09, 12:26 PM
RudeDoggy
Pole Position

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Yet another rims question for the CL wheel experts...

Hi CL wheel experts,

I am thinking of getting MRR GT1 rims in 19x8.5" in chrome finish as seen here:

They come in +35 and +45 offsets. I am a newbie to rims but will these clear my calipers (2008 GS350 AWD)? What does the offset mean exactly? Do the +35 offset rims stick out more from the car compared to the +45 offset rims? Will either of these offsets cause rubbing?

I am riding at stock height (may lower in the future if F Sport springs are available for the AWD GS --for insurance purposes otherwise I would drop it tomorrow with Tanabe NF210) and plan to use 245/35R19 all around.

I had my heart set on TSW Snetterton chrome 19x8" but after waiting more than 10 weeks (!) with no ETA, I've decided to go with something different.

Any help from you guys would be greatly appreciated!

P.S. Does anyone know where MRR wheels are made? China? USA? Another country?

P.P.S. Anyone recommend any places to order them online? elementwheels.com (first hit on a Google search) sells them for $331.20 USD/each shipped within the US and my local tire dealer wants to sell them for me for $420 USD/each. To save approximately $250 USD for the set of wheels (assuming the wheels are made in China and I have to pay 8% duties to import them into Canada), it makes it worth it for me to drive an hour to Niagara Falls, NY.
Old 06-06-09, 12:54 PM
rominl
exclusive matchup

Received 184 Likes on 143 Posts

google is always your friend
http://www.tirerack.com/wheels/tech/...jsp?techid=101

1) lower the offset, the more it sticks out
2) offset and widths go hand in hand