GS - 3rd Gen (2006-2011) Discussion about the 2006+ model GS300, GS350, GS430, GS450H and GS460

Is the GS Reliable and Solid Yet?

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-06, 05:45 AM
Nauticalx
Instructor

Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Is the GS Reliable and Solid Yet?

I've been flippin through this forum and noticed several threads of irate GS owners with trouble prone and rattling 3rd Gen GSes. There are numerous members with a string of warranty repairs and numerous down days on their new cars. This was disconcerting to hear in a new Lexus. I am a poor college student looking to get a used 3gen GS sometime in the future but was wondering that 2006 GSes at the very least should be avoided. I absolutely love the GS shape exterior and the interior.

Whats plaguing these GSes and what do we know about Lexus addressing any of these changes for the GS460 and GS350 lines?

Also, when do you believe the GS350's will drop in value to sub 30k levels?
Old 07-16-06, 02:36 PM
Threxx
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Reading forums is a good way to find out what common problems are, but a poor way of finding out HOW common those problems are since you have no idea what kind of sample you're actually dealing with. JD Power and such are much better for this purpose.
Old 07-16-06, 03:24 PM
lexuslover
MultiTasking Mom

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

yes, and keep in mind that forums are usually a place for people to post for help, so naturally you are going to get more "problem" posts than "my GS is operating A-ok" posts.

i have a first batch Feb 05 built GS430 and it has been nothing short of perfect in the rattles dept. and we've had over 6 lexuses in the past, and i am very **** about noises. this GS is my 3rd, and it's been the best so far. the only complaint i had was the crappy Yokohamas they put on the car, which i recently replaced.

sub 30k on a new 350? they are not out yet, and it will start at mid-40's...
Old 07-16-06, 06:41 PM
Nauticalx
Instructor