GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Gs400

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-16, 09:11 PM
Barticus35
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gs400

Hi all,
I'm new to this but thought I might be able to get a little help on my car. I have a 1998 Lexus GS400. Absolutely love this car and I have the mileage to prove it. Currently at 357000+. Anyway, I do a little mechanic work just to save a few bucks like everyone else. Today my car was making a knocking noise. When I popped the hood I could see the assumed source of the noise. It was coming from the front of the engine and I could visibly see one of the pulleys kind of wobbling. I was about an hour from home and no real way to avoid driving home so I did. While driving home I felt the steering become difficult and the battery indicator light come on. No big deal I thought. Probably the serpentine belt broke. Which it did. However, I don't think that it just broke as I've replaced several serpentine belts before, (not on this car) and they usually are pretty shredded when they fail. Not here. There is a fair amount of what looks like melted rubber from the belt on most pulleys. I'm assuming that the Fan pulley froze and thus prevented the belt from going around the pulleys as it should and more or less just melted through and fell off. Replacing the belt is a snap, but it that fan pulley is frozen, I'll have the same problem all over again. Here's my question. Can the fan freeze up like that and, as much as I hate to admit it, is the fan pulley simply the waterpump freezing or locking up? There's no antifreeze spillage and my gage didn't indicate any excessive heat build up. Has anyone else experienced this and if so, how do I know if I need to replace the water pump?

Looking forward to your helpful responses.
Old 07-03-16, 08:19 AM
lextout
Racer

Received 47 Likes on 45 Posts