GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

First mods to a '98 GS400

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-16, 09:58 AM
JRichie333
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First mods to a '98 GS400

Hi CL

After my grandfather passed away a few weeks ago, I inherited his 1998 GS400. I figured the best way to get an idea of his vehicle would be to join the forum and get to know other people with this car.
I'm not looking to make huge power (300 hp is more than enough for me) but I do want to know what kind of mods other people have done in order to improve driveability.
For some background, I had done a lot of commuting with my previous vehicle and would love a way to improve my mileage in this GS as well. What kind of mods have other people done to improve mileage?
Also, what tend to be the high-maintenance parts for this vehicle? I'm a mechanic by trade and want to know what I should be ready to service most frequently.
Old 01-29-16, 10:04 AM
1QWKGS4
Pole Position

Received 37 Likes on 22 Posts

No mods will improve mpg.. Had my car 17 years since new and its not gotten any better. The only thing i know of that might improve hwy mileage is a Supercharger but It will lose mpg on the low end so its a wash. Same.

My honest opinion, just drive it and enjoy it. Be Careful with your mods.
Old 01-29-16, 10:20 AM
JRichie333
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks a bunch for the quick response!
I tend to be a hypermiler with my '94 Camry, so I get around 25 mpg with it. I've seen that this car does about 20 mpg. Maybe I can do around the same.
Can you suggest any mods that improve reliability, or maybe identify some of the parts that wear out the most frequently? I'd love to get to work on this and want to know what common mods are.
Old 01-29-16, 10:35 AM
1QWKGS4
Pole Position