GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

How to remove glove box light w/o breaking it

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-13, 06:18 AM
subzero32
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default How to remove glove box light w/o breaking it

So how do I remove the glove box light bulb (size 37) without breaking it? It's recessed and hard to grip with your fingers. I thought about pushing it out from behind with a small dental instrument (I'm a dentist). Also the footwell lights are hard to grip as well. I'm doing a LED conversion and these are the last ones I need to change.
Old 02-07-13, 07:20 AM
SPRTNYDSN
Lexus Test Driver

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

it easy but its safer if you just unscrew the 4 and the one below the glovebox so you have better access to the light.
Old 02-07-13, 10:10 AM
Debonair
iModerate

Received 39 Likes on 27 Posts

Break it then pull it out by the filament with needle nose pliers. Worked good for me.
Old 02-07-13, 10:23 AM
subzero32
Driver

Originally Posted by Debonair
Break it then pull it out by the filament with needle nose pliers. Worked good for me.
I want to avoid breaking the bulb but it's good to know you were able to pull it out by the filament.
Old 02-07-13, 11:53 AM
wbmx1981
Advanced

Received 24 Likes on 21 Posts

Follow the steps to remove the passenger servos. There are steps to remove the glove box, its simple.
Old 02-07-13, 06:18 PM
99 GS3
Lexus Champion

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts

Originally Posted by subzero32
So how do I remove the glove box light bulb (size 37) without breaking it? It's recessed and hard to grip with your fingers. I thought about pushing it out from behind with a small dental instrument (I'm a dentist). Also the footwell lights are hard to grip as well. I'm doing a LED conversion and these are the last ones I need to change.