GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

How do you get to the brake light switch

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-12, 11:22 AM
shabbyblue
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you get to the brake light switch

I believe my brake light switch is out. I can't drive the car anywhere because I don't have brake lights. I need to know how do you get to the brake light switch, so I can try to replace it. I know it is on top of the brake pedal, but it seems to be covered up with metal pieces. Is it real difficult to get to. PLEASE need major help!
Old 05-22-12, 01:15 PM
99Aristo
Lead Lap

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Well, I have never replaced one and have barely looked up there but after 14 years of professionally being a mechanic I can't imagine they'd make it too hard to get to. If you don't own a service manual that'd be the first thing I would get, the help from them is priceless despite their cost. Also, I don't even know if there''s fuses for the brake lights but check one of the probably 4 fuse boxes int he car to see, 3 under the hood, 1 inside at drivers foot well. Chances are slim four bulbs burned out, and if it's not a fuse you would be correct on your brake light switch call....unless there's a broken wire after the brake switch which is slim. The only reason I could ever see a brake wire being cut is if an auto start was installed and a t-tap or scotch lock cut through it. Also, scour the internet with searches for what you are looking for, you never know what you might find.
Old 03-19-21, 05:03 PM
MrBlack000
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm sure u meant well but that was the most useless response ever, if he had a manual in front of him would he be asking you? not likely. scouring the depths of the internet lead you here first.
there is 2 screws you have to remove,