GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

I need a new Air Filter

Old 07-04-11, 09:28 PM
kmy
Driver

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need a new Air Filter

well, not me but my car does. Just took a peak today and eww. Its my first time owning a Lexus and with all the electronics/gadgets Lexus has I want the best for my car - long lasting & reliability. So I'm thinking about a drop-in K&N Air Filter but worry about the oil they use on the filter. Its not like a Honda where you can buy a $20 ebay intake and not worry about CEL lights. So will that be safe in the long run on my intake sensor? I mean, i know I could clean the sensor with a parts cleaner but just a caution Q that came in my mind. Car is daily drive/commute. No racing(spirited driving excluded).

I'd like to stay oem replacement filters. K&N good? what other brands are recommended?

My Car - 2000 GS400.
Old 07-04-11, 09:32 PM
LuxuryGS3
Lexus Champion

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts

You can go HKS. It's really expensive, but I hear they're nice.

I wouldn't dare go K&N, but then again I don't want to have to clean my sensor all the time because the filter is oily. Not my style, but hey if you want it then go with it.

IMO though..

-: OEM Regular
-: HKS (Don't believe they use oil, don't know though)
Old 07-04-11, 10:20 PM
vwynn
Lexus Fanatic

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts

http://www.mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/

FYI to everyone who have not seen the test. Obviously take this with a grain of salt. These are performance filters for the 2jzgte motor of supras.

Good info IMO
Old 07-04-11, 10:23 PM
vwynn
Lexus Fanatic

Received 53 Likes on 36 Posts

Originally Posted by LuxuryGS3

I wouldn't dare go K&N, but then again I don't want to have to clean my sensor all the time because the filter is oily. Not my style, but hey if you want it then go with it.

IMO though..