GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

02 GS300 creaking/popping noise during slow turns

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-10, 04:31 PM
raceforgt
Rookie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb 02 GS300 creaking/popping noise during slow turns

So Im new to CL and this is my first open thread. Sorry if this topic has been addressed before but I searched all over and found nothing even close to my concern.

I have a 02 GS300 (bought used) and have had a creaking/popping/grinding noise coming from the front end when moving very slowly, stopping and while doing so giving the steering a sharp turn. It only does it in this circumstance, basically almost every time Im pulling into a parking spot. It's been doing it since I bought the car 3 years ago but has gotten progressively worse and now its bad!

What do the people of CL suggest for my GS, with 75K miles, as a solution? And at the same time Im looking to make several mods (loweing springs, shocks, sways) What parts do I need to service/replace to make this all work? Im eager to get started..

I appreciate everyone's time and help!!
Old 09-11-10, 04:48 PM
02_GS430
Driver School Candidate

Most likely your ball joints are going out. I had the same problem about a year ago
Old 09-11-10, 11:09 PM
MU521
Driver School Candidate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

def ball joints. just replaced mine. was kinda scared to drive the car so replaced it for piece on mind
Old 09-12-10, 12:15 AM
sakataj
Lexus Fanatic

Received 72 Likes on 71 Posts

change them or join this club

https://www.clublexus.com/forums/sus...gs-owners.html
Old 09-12-10, 12:59 AM
AsGs300
Instructor

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

CHANGE em! asap DO NOT DELAY ! trust me I have joined the above metioned club! TWICE
nothing nice!
Old 09-12-10, 01:21 AM
sakataj
Lexus Fanatic

Received 72 Likes on 71 Posts

Originally Posted by AsGs300