GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Cant effin believe I did this!!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-02, 03:38 PM
DrRick
Lexus Champion

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Angry Cant effin believe I did this!!!!!!!!

so there is a little dirt build up on my arm rest in my GS. i am a left handed driver so i rest my arm there (duh!) so doing a search, i found out that Lexol is the best leather cleaner out that is readil available. of course i cant find it anywhere so someone had mentioned using warm soapy water. i know i got that, so im off. start cleaning and the thing works like a charm. so im rubbing alittle more and i notice that it goes from dirty to clean to looking dirty again. IM TAKING OFF THE TOP LAYER OF THE LEATHER!!!!!!!! so now i have another spot of discoloration on my arm rest. friggin' great. what do i need to do. is there any leather dye or do i need to get another top section for the arm rest? i still cant believe i did this. like my pops used to say, "i should be driving a bulldozer"

Doc
Attached Thumbnails Cant effin believe I did this!!!!!!!!-dsc00047.jpg  
Old 05-02-02, 03:39 PM
DrRick
Lexus Champion

this one should show it alittle better
Attached Thumbnails Cant effin believe I did this!!!!!!!!-dsc00048.jpg  
Old 05-02-02, 03:48 PM
///MDex
Lexus Champion

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

D/R - beathe in, breathe out.

I believe you, but it looks like its still wet in that pic. Let it air dry first; don't rub it anymore.

When it is completely dry, gently apply some leather conditioner evenly over the entire arm rest. Consider rubbing it in with your hands. Don't goop it on; that will do more harm than good.

Let it soak in for a 10-30 min, then take a look see if the discoloration is still grossly apparent. If it is, try to manipulate the shades with a little more conditioner. If still after a second application, you don't see the results you want, stop there.