GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Radio Install DIY add-on

Old 05-10-08, 09:10 PM
offandongu
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Radio Install DIY add-on

Hey guys, I saw on here that a lot people seemed to have questions about the GS300 after market radio installation. So I just put a radio in my wife's car and thought I'd take some pictures during the install that might help you guys out. I was an Assistant Car Stereo sales and installation manager at Circuit City for 3 years so I have a lot of experience doing installs. So here we go:

I started by making a harness that was about 36 inches long to reach from behind the radio to the factory amplifier:
Name:  DSC_4170.jpg
Views: 11873
Size:  75.7 KB
I left a quick disconnect harness on, like the ones at circuit city, incase I change out the radio later, this way I won't have to wire anything else up.

Next I dropped the glove box and located the factory amp and the output wires from the factory amp (an met 80 or 70 1761 from BB or CC will fit this harness).
Name:  DSC_4166.jpg
Views: 14232
Size:  62.3 KB

Here's a close up of the harness and where it was unplugged from:
Name:  DSC_4167.jpg
Views: 14291
Size:  52.7 KB

Factory Amp location on right:
Name:  DSC_4168.jpg
Views: 18617
Size:  73.9 KB

Next I got 12 volt switched (accesory) from the harness behind the factory radio (not the factory amp) it is a gray wire:
Name:  DSC_4171.jpg
Views: 18555
Size:  67.4 KB