GS - 2nd Gen (1998-2005) Discussion about the second generation GS300, GS400 and GS430 (1998 - 2005)

Radio Install DIY add-on

Old 01-19-12, 11:44 PM
step2me
Driver

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I have a 2000 gs400 with factory navi ....i want to keep the head unit and change all 4 door speakers and add a box and a 5 channel amp to push the system ..how do i do this ? helppppppp please
Old 03-22-12, 07:33 AM
EngnPushr
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

very helpful! Thank you
Old 03-30-12, 06:16 PM
Deception
Lexus Test Driver

Originally Posted by offandongu
Hey guys, I saw on here that a lot people seemed to have questions about the GS300 after market radio installation. So I just put a radio in my wife's car and thought I'd take some pictures during the install that might help you guys out. I was an Assistant Car Stereo sales and installation manager at Circuit City for 3 years so I have a lot of experience doing installs. So here we go:

I started by making a harness that was about 36 inches long to reach from behind the radio to the factory amplifier:

I left a quick disconnect harness on, like the ones at circuit city, incase I change out the radio later, this way I won't have to wire anything else up.

Next I dropped the glove box and located the factory amp and the output wires from the factory amp (an met 80 or 70 1761 from BB or CC will fit this harness).

Here's a close up of the harness and where it was unplugged from:

Factory Amp location on right:

Next I got 12 volt switched (accesory) from the harness behind the factory radio (not the factory amp) it is a gray wire: