GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

Cold start issue

Old 10-12-15, 08:50 AM
williamb82
Advanced

Received 45 Likes on 29 Posts

Same issue again this morning, the source of the problem still eludes me.
Old 10-12-15, 08:57 AM
skytechja
Rookie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ohhhhh dam..... sorry to hear.. i was actually keeping my fingers crossed....

something is up with some temp related issue on startup....

maybe need to get an electrical manual and look through it thoroughly
Old 10-13-15, 06:19 AM
williamb82
Advanced

I have it, and have. My degree is in electronics. Anyway, I ordered new O2 sensors. I haven't replaced them since I got the car, so why not. $26 for the pair shipped for Bosch. They "shouldn't" have anything to do with starting cold, but who knows. Maybe they are giving a false rich condition so the ecu isn't giving fuel when trying to start cold. That is what the issue seems to be, as odd as that is. I have spark when cold, so that means its a fuel delivery issue, and the pump is new, and the fuel filter isnt clogged, so seems the ecu isnt firing the injectors, or at least not with enough pulse width to fire the car. Un plugging the tps puts it in a limp mode which dumps extra fuel. You can smell it running really rich when it starts this way. After the o2 sensors, I will swap my extra injectors. at that point, I have to assume maybe they are out of spec enough that they are incapable of the duty cycle being commanded in the situation. They do have over 340k miles on them after all, and injector cleaner has already been run through twice so I know they are not sticking. Just getting pissed off at this dumb problem.
Old 10-13-15, 07:25 AM
skytechja
Rookie

welll the O2 sensors is a plausible cause ...... they shouldnt be sending any signal when cold though..... they only do that when heated.....