GS - 1st Gen (1993-1997) Discussion about the first generation GS300

A prospective buyer needs HELP!!!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-11, 09:06 PM
MyGS3
Pole Position

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Default A prospective buyer needs HELP!!!!!

Alright guys, this is it! I am in the market for a 1st generation GS and i couldn't be more excited. I've been an admirer of the car for quite sometime, and I finally have the opportunity to pull the trigger. I refuse to pay another car note, so I've decided to the get the car that I've wanted since high school(I graduated from HS in 2003). I'm sure I'm going to receive a lot of weird looks for purchasing a car that is 17 years at it's youngest possible age, but I am in love with this car. This car was so ahead of it's time; I honestly think it's giving some recent cars a run for it's money. Obviously, I would prefer to get latest year(s) possible, but I don't see a lot of 97's for sale.

Here is where I need the 1st gen guru's help.I know that no car is without it's common issues, especially a car that is 17+ years of age. What problem areas should I be looking for? What should I be looking to repair on a car that's in pristine condition? Any info would really be helpful. Once I get my hands on the car, I am looking to hold on to it for quite some time.
Old 09-16-11, 09:55 PM
TheMole
Lexus Champion

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

I believe there are a few threads/stickies listing the common problems so just try a quick search. Off the top of the my head, the window regulators usually go bad so it won't roll up/down. Also, the 96-97 5spd auto trans are not known to last very long. Good luck on your search and post pics when you pick it up!
Old 09-17-11, 08:47 AM
freshmoney
Driver

Received 1 Like on 1 Post