Tips on buying a used es350?

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-15, 11:44 AM
Rothschild
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tips on buying a used es350?

Hello,

I'd like to say that these forums are great. I have been researching trading in my 10 year old Honda Civic for a new (to me) car. My civic has been amazingly reliable and I am now seriously considering an ES350 for the same reason. I just want a trouble-free car that will ideally last me another 10 years or more. I have only bought one car (my civic) and I bought that as a new car, so I have no experience buying used or CPO cars.

My question is, does anyone have any tips on buying a used ES350? I am definitely leaning toward the CPO program and I would like a car that has only had 1 previous owner (although I don't have any evidence that that really matters). If anyone has any tips or tricks that will help me get the best deal or get the most for my money I would really appreciate it.

Right now, I am thinking about a 2012 model, but I don't know whether I want the 5th or 6th gen model - my suspicion is that I probably prefer a 5th gen but I don't have a good basis for that. Thank you in advance!

PS I also cross posted this to the 5th gen forum.
Old 06-21-15, 12:36 PM
lesz
Lead Lap

Received 1,010 Likes on 691 Posts

The thing that I'd suggest is to seriously evaluate whether it is really worth the premium that you would be paying for a CPO vehicle. The ES is a very dependable vehicle, and, even without CPO designation, the remainder of the bumper-to-bumper and drive train warranties still transfer to the new owner.