Hybrid Technology Unique topics related to the ES300h model hybrid drivetrain and other features/options found only on the ES300h. Please use the main 6ES forum for discussion about shared components with other sixth generation ES models.

Rodent Damage on ES300h

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-14, 09:26 AM
Goodtravel
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rodent Damage on ES300h

I just paid $3,500 for the replacement of the engine wiring harness (and associated hardware) due to rodent(s) feasting on my 2013 ES300h. The car was parked in the front yard in the same location used for 8 years by my previous 2005 ES330 which never had any rodent problems. Since this is the biggest repair bill I have had in 60 years of driving experience it really got my attention. A quick search on the internet suggests that the trend toward "green" cars has resulted in the use of edible insulation which is attractive to rodents. I am also being told that once rodents learn how tasty my new car is they are likely to return (while ignoring the three older cars parked in the same general location). I don't believe there is anything unusual about our local rodent population so I would think this would be a common problem with the new Lexus models but a search of the forum shows only a smattering of comparable events with no indication that we are at the beginning of an epidemic of eaten "green" cars. My question is: Does Lexus see this as a major issue and do they (or anyone else) have a solution?
Old 06-21-14, 10:46 AM
lesz
Lead Lap

Received 1,010 Likes on 691 Posts

I don't have any knowledge about whether Lexus, in its efforts to be more green, is using materials that are more attractive to rodents, but I do have a question and a suggestion.