ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

Anyone with Clear Bra experience?

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-14, 04:15 PM
dmanpizza
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone with Clear Bra experience?

I will be picking up my ES300h in the next few days and am debating on having a clear bra installed.
Does anyone have any experience with clear bra products?
I have a few concerns but would like to do something to keep the front end from getting all nicked up.
What brands are good?
How long do they last?
Will they discolor over time?
Do you need to use a special cleaner for it?
Old 01-28-14, 04:36 PM
caboal
Driver School Candidate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I'm no expert, but I put one on my car. I have had several and they really help the front bumper stay nice.

The dealer wanted $1500 and went down to $1000 when I told him I already had an appointment to get one for $700. I don't know that it was any nicer than the $700 one.

3M brand is considered the industry standard.

I have never had one discolor.

I use a polymer sealant or any wax that is not abrasive. You don't have to. I treat my car finish very well and can't seem to ignore the clear bra. No special cleaners, just nothing aggressive or abrasive. You won't need anything special since they clean so easy.

5-10 years is normal for a clear bra.

I just hit 5,ooo miles on my ES300H
Old 01-28-14, 07:39 PM
dmanpizza
Driver School Candidate

Thank you!
Old 01-30-14, 05:37 AM
PTmobile
Driver

3M is a lower level film. Suntek and Xpel Ultimate are the best two films on the market BY FAR. They are self healing and MUCH smoother than 3M. 3M may have originally developed PPF but they have fallen way behind in the last 8 years by not improving their film. I test out every film that comes into the market and would never touch 3M.
Old 01-30-14, 06:23 AM
jonmanch
Driver

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post