ES - 6th Gen (2013-2018) Discussion topics related to 2013+ ES models

New to Lexus - Previous TL Owner

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-13, 09:04 PM
Blackhawks
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow New to Lexus - Previous TL Owner

Hey Everybody... I'm new to Lexus, as I just traded in my 2012 Acura TL SH-AWD last week for a 2013 SE300h. So far, I'm loving the Lexus. There are definitely pros and cons and wanted to share some opinions with everybody and see if I'm all alone or if certain things will grow on me.

PROS:
1. Gas mileage - I was only getting 15/16mpg in the TL. It was terrible paying for premium gas and filling up for $80 once a week.
2. Cabin space - The ES is much bigger. On first look, it appears to be smaller and I think it's based upon the rear window size (smaller on the ES). But, all 6'2" of me can sit with my knee completely extended while I press the accellerator... but more importantly I can accomplish this feat while my 2 year old isn't kicking me in the back from his car seat. HUGE bonus.
3. More luxurious - The TL had a great interior, but Acura always prided themselves on being a luxury car. I just didn't see it. There was alot more modding of the TLs than I've seen in the Lexus forum and I think a TL had a lost identity between a luxury automobile and a 305hp sports car.
4. Most things I loved about the TL are on the ES (push button start, keyless entry, etc)
5. A small item, but the TL would only have one mirror move downwards while in reverse. Whichever mirror was selected would move down. So, depending on the side of the street you're parking on, you would have to switch it.

CONS: