ES - 5th Gen (2007-2012) Discussion topics related to 2007+ ES350

Replacing speakers in 08 ES350

Search this Thread

Old 02-10-12, 10:09 PM
SumDumGuy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing speakers in 08 ES350

Hello all. I am new to Club Lexus but have been reading many posts regarding speaker replacement on the ML equipped 08 ES350. Some said that you can not do it, and others said they replaced speakers with great results. My ML system sounds HORRIBLE. Let me tell everyone what my plan is, then you can hit me back with whether it will work or not: I plan to install a pair of coax 2-way 6x9s (75 watts RMS) in the front doors, coax 2-way 6.5" (75 watt RMS) in the back doors connected to the ML amp. I then want to remove the ML sub and install a 8" (or maybe a 10" with a little modification to the back deck) pushed by it's own amp. I have been researching this for about a week, and there is just nothing definative out there. If you have any thoughts, I am all ears (or eyes, in this case!)
Old 02-11-12, 03:33 AM
Robert_J
Lead Lap

I plan to install a pair of coax 2-way 6x9s (75 watts RMS) in the front doors
Are you going to disconnect the dash speakers? After replacing my front speakers with a pair of quality components, it was a major improvement. The bigger improvement came when I replaced the head unit. But mine was the standard audio system.

I then want to remove the ML sub and install a 8" (or maybe a 10" with a little modification to the back deck) pushed by it's own amp.
This one was HUGE. I went with a custom built 12" in its own enclosure. I didn't want the rear deck to rattle. I have a 1,000w amp pushing the sub.

I have been researching this for about a week, and there is just nothing definative out there. If you have any thoughts, I am all ears (or eyes, in this case!)