ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

1997 ES300 needs new engine or should I sell it

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-14, 09:38 AM
rikkistein
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 ES300 needs new engine or should I sell it

Hi everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum but have enjoyed the wealth of information found here over the years about my model Lexus. Recently, while I was recovering from a serious illness and major surgery, my car's engine died due to several factors out of my control. It sat in the garage for weeks and was only started up every few days by my brother. I later discovered that that does not charge the battery but rather drains it. So the battery died and we had AAA jump it for us and my brother drove it around for a while. The red engine light apparently was on and off intermittently while he drove it but he thought that meant it needed oil. When he called me to tell me he was going to check the oil level and the red light was on, I told him to stop driving the car, get a tow truck and get it back to the garage. Well, he drove it back home. I sent it to the mechanic the next day who thought it might be the oil sensor and he replaced that first. The light stayed off but within a few days the engine threw a rod and that was the end of it. Long story to bring you to my questions:
Is there any point in putting a used engine in the car for about $3500? Or should I sell it to someone who will fix it up for himself but is only offering me $650 for the car?