ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

2004 es330 issues

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-14, 03:29 PM
natetheguy
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2004 es330 issues

Hello all,

I own a 2004 Lexus es330. It just hit 107k.

Recently it started driving terribly and I am no mechanic, especially not with these cars. So I am hoping someone here can help me diagnose what is happening.

I have 2 problems going on, I am unsure if they are related. The first thing is lack of power and lurching forward when I let off the gas pedal and then reapply pressure. Let me explain: If I am going up a hill, the car will not accelerate as quickly as it used to. If I let off the gas pedal because cars in front of me are slowing down and then reapply pressure to the gas pedal because the light turns green, the car will hesitate and then lurch forward after a moment. I realize I may not have explained this well, so if you need a better description I will try to explain it a little bit better.

My second issue happens when starting it. When it is cold and I go to start it in the morning it fires right up. But if I go to my first class that is only 50 minutes and then come back out and go to start it again, it turns over a few times and then sounds like it dies but it starts up very quietly, which is unusual. It is also having an idle issue. It now idles at around 600 rpm's whereas it used to idle at 1000.

Like I said, I am no mechanic. But I was thinking it may be my transmission or my timing belt.

Any advice or knowledge would be greatly appreciated! I just do not have the money to bring it into a shop right now for a BS diagnosis. So I would like to get a good idea of what is wrong before I drop any dollars.
Old 05-07-14, 04:48 PM
mdbrown
Lead Lap

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts