ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

2004 ES330 Snow Performance

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-13, 06:47 PM
David82
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2004 ES330 Snow Performance

Hello!

Does the ES330 perform well in the snow?

I have a chance to own a 2004 ES330 FWD. The vehicle is in great condition. My sole concern is the snow performance. Previously I have only driven AWD SUVs. I live in New York and occasionally go to Mount Snow in Vermont. New York winters aren't the worst but a few times per season the snow could get bad. Also, in Vermont I just drive to a cottage I rent and from there to the mountain.

Would ES330 be sufficient for my uses? Again, I have no experience with FWD cars only AWD SUVs.

Thank you
Old 11-16-13, 06:49 PM
hypervish
Lexus Test Driver

Received 88 Likes on 75 Posts

Welcome to Club Lexus!

Does the ES you are looking at have VSC?

The ES performs as well as any FWD car in the snow.

I'd invest in a set of snow tires if I were you.
Old 11-16-13, 06:56 PM
SW17LS
Lexus Fanatic

Received 2,520 Likes on 1,818 Posts

I had a 2003 ES300, basically the same car. It was quite good in the snow and mine did not even have VSC.

If you are going to be traveling in areas where you might be traveling in real snow I would get snow tires, but I had driven the ES in 6-7 inches of fresh snow on all seasons and it was just fine.
Old 11-16-13, 07:24 PM
brucelee1
Racer

Received 87 Likes on 74 Posts

Michelin Artic Alpins and you are all set.

Buy the car.
Old 11-16-13, 10:14 PM
David82
Driver School Candidate

Wink

Thanks for the welcome, advice and tire recommendation! I don't believe that this ES has the VSC but I'll double check.

I currently lease 2013 RX350. I got married recently. My wife owns a 2004 ES with 65K on it. She wont sell it. She wants to get rid of the leased RX as the ES is all paid off.