ES - 1st to 4th Gen (1990-2006) Forum for all 1990 - 2006 ES300 and ES330 models. ES250 topics go here as well.

95 ES 300 Overheating

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-13, 06:31 PM
RowenaF
Driver School Candidate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 95 ES 300 Overheating

I am a noob, but I did an advanced search, and didn't see much help on this issue. So here goes:
I had previously had overheating issues with the car, but through a series of events ended up replacing the fan shroud/relay? on the radiator. Since then there has been no issues. Just this week the water pump goes bad and as a result overheats and the radiator cracks. We replaced/new: water pump, timing belt, temp sensor, radiator. Cap is fairly new. I get the car back today...mechanic ran it on idle for 30 minutes no prob, but as soon as I got in on the road it started to overheat and puke overflow. After cooling I refilled and let run for 20 minutes for air pockets...no prob. No white smoke or smells, lower hose/top hose are warm/hot, but I noticed that heater is not hot. Could a stuck thermostat cause overheating?
Old 04-07-13, 06:58 PM
StuckInVA
Driver

If your thermostat is stuck closed then yes, it will cause your vehicle to overheat. If your mechanic let the car idle for 30 minutes from cold it might not have had enough time get to the point where the stat should open. Engines heat up much slower when they idle as opposed to having a load. you might notice this if you warm your car in the winter before driving. If it has been a while i would replace the thermostat anyway as it is not an expensive part, however I would be skeptical this is the problem if you are certain that the car will not over heat on idle. Perhaps the thermostat will only open partially? perhaps the cooling fan has enough of a cooling effect on it's own to prevent an overheat under such small load?